…Go

Here it is, the first book I will be reading for this blog. This is also one of my Classics Club choices, chosen because I have never read a Wodehouse and I think that as a Brit (with a degree in English literature) it is high time I did.

I have heard many references to Wodehouse’s works over the years, but I wasn’t sure which one of his many novels to choose as my introduction to his work. When I Googled it several discussions suggested The Code of the Woosters to be a good place to start, and the fact that my library has a copy also made it a favourable choice.

I couldn’t wait to get stuck in and have already come across some great one-liners such as “I could see that, if not actually disgruntled, he was far from being gruntled” and “Why, at our private school, where I had first met him, he had been known as “Fathead”, and that was in competition with fellows like Bingo Little, Freddie Widgeon and myself.”

The novel is fairly easy to read, although it does require the reader to pay attention or some of the more subtle jokes may be lost. Once I got past the first chapter I really got into the swing of things, and will soon be right-ho-ing along with Bertie Wooster. I’m already nearly a quarter of the way through so I’m sure it won’t take too long to polish this one off, and I’m thoroughly enjoying myself in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

