A New Year and New Books

It’s been rather quiet on here recently, but that is about to change. The last quarter of 2015 was a very busy one for me and, although it’s still pretty busy, my books are now unpacked (a priority), I’ve signed up to my local library and I’m busy reading again. I feel I’ve gone off track a bit with my reading recently as well, partly the fault of the library and being in the land of books again (Brunei was rather short on book shops – although the library was excellent) and I’ve not read a classic in ages. Not to mention the fact that I’ve been cut off from the internet for weeks and I lose patience doing anything on my phone.

But enough excuses. This year I’m planning to read more classics, in fact more of everything but especially classics. I’m signing up to the 2016 Classics Challenge to help me, and I’ve already blogged about my intention to read more classics by women authors from around the world  in an event hosted by the Classics Club. I’ll also carry on reading whatever catches my eye in the library or bookshops, but I’m going to try and be a bit more selective as I’m determined not to waste a minute reading this year!

ghostly-9781501111198_hr

On that note, my reading so far has got off to a good start for contemporary literature – I am halfway through Sarah Hall’s The Electric Michelangelo which is truly excellent and the only reason I am not reading it now is that somehow my copy got lost on the way back up from Yorkshire where I was reading it last. If it doesn’t turn up by the weekend I am going out to buy a new copy. In the meantime I am reading Ghostly: A Collection of Stories edited by Audrey Niffenegger. It’s a really diverse and pleasantly chilling compilation of stories from authors old and new and I’m sad that I only have two stories left (although perhaps I will sleep easier once I’ve finished!) Next on the list is a yet to be decided classic…

 

 

Leave a Reply

